top of page

The Son(s)

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • SoundCloud
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Bandcamp

Once there were three.

The Son(s) released their self-titled album with Olive Grove in 2011 to much critical acclaim (thank you Drowned in Sound). 

The subsequent ten track mini LP, ‘Leviathan', recorded overwinter in an empty Edinburgh tenement, is a thing of real beauty and includes The List single of the month ‘If I Hear You Talk Apostrophes Again’ - “untrammelled DIY glam-strop” - (kudos Nicola Meighan).

The Son(s) second album, 'The Things I Love Are Not at Home' followed in 2014, which included collaborations with SAY Award winner RM Hubbert and Pete MacDonald (Randolph's Leap/State Broadcasters) and single ‘Death, With Castanets’ - “a giddy, all-too-brief slice of bookish, psychedelic pop”.

In 2018 & 19 a new line up of The Son(s) played several low-key shows supporting the likes of Kathryn Joseph, Randolphs Leap & RM Hubbert in Glasgow & Edinburgh - road testing a new set of songs. These songs are due to make up a new Son(s) LP, due to trouble your ears sometime before the apocalypse hits in the early 2020’s.

The List - "Grammatical funk, cross-dressing blues and skewed-folk despotism never sounded so full of the joys of spring" 

Daily Record - “So well crafted and honey-dipped in harmonies that it's hard to stay tethered to your home"

The Herald - “A psychedelic-folk wonderland, with vocals gorgeously behind the beat and music intrepidly ahead of the pack.”

Drowned in Sound - " the menopause in surround sound..”

bottom of page